Welcome to the Adaptation Network


The Adaptation Network was founded in 2009 to establish a creative platform for sharing of experiences, practical approaches and frameworks relating to climate change adaptation. The Network has members from Civil Society, Government, Parastatals, Academia and Business.

The Network is hosted by the Environmental Monitoring Group, a civil society organisation based in Cape Town. The secretariat is guided by a Steering Committee which is elected annually at the annual general meetings.

Membership is open to all subscribing to the values of the network and working in the field of adaptation.

+ Read more

Quick Facts

Established in: 2009
Aims to: Provide a platform for knowledge and information sharing
Secretariat hosted by: The Environmental Monitoring Group

Steering Committee 2015/2016:

  • Indigo development & change
  • African Climate Development Initiative, University of Cape Town
  • Environmental Science Department, Rhodes University
  • Environmental Monitoring Group
  • Conservation South Africa
  • South African Local Government Association (Co-opted)
  • Green Network (Co-opted)
  • Department of Environmental Affairs (Co-opted)

Mandy Barnett will attend Steering Committee meetings as an official observer.

Associate members: 206
Formal organisational members: 27
Formal individual members: 30

+ Read More

Do you have a specific question?
Consult the Adaptation Support Desk

The Adaptation Support Desk is designed to support Network members in their engagement in adaptation processes.

You can contact the Adaptation Support Desk with a specific adaptation related query, and we will assist you drawing on the network of the members and associates. In this process, we might provide information and links to relevant information or put you in touch with resource persons from the spheres of policy, academia and adaptation practice.

Support Desk

The activities of the Adaptation Network are supported
by a grant from the Government of Flanders.